Making a Complaint

If you wish to make a complaint about any activity of the Service, Section 41 of the CSIS Act will apply.

If you wish to make a complaint concerning the denial or revocation of a security clearance necessary to obtain or keep federal government employment or contracts, Section 42 of the CSIS Act applies.

Section 41 Complaints

Your first step should be to gather as much documentation and other information as possible about the circumstances of your complaint.

If you are complaining about CSIS Activities under Section 41 of the CSIS Act, you must first file a complaint by writing to the Director of the Service at the following address:

Director
Canadian Security Intelligence Service
P. O. Box 9732
Postal Station “T
Ottawa, Ontario
K1G 4G4

If you are not satisfied with the Director's response, or if you do not receive a response within a reasonable time (usually 30 days), you may then submit your complaint to SIRC, including the response, if any, received from the Director of CSIS. You may contact SIRC as follows:

Security Intelligence Review Committee
P.O. Box 2430,
Station “D
Ottawa, Ontario
K1P 5W5

Telephone: (613) 990-8441
Fax: (613) 990-5230

Once your complaint is received, SIRC will contact you to follow up on the information you provide.

Section 42 Complaints

If your security clearance was denied or revoked, the CSIS Act provides that the Deputy Head of the federal department or agency where you were employed or were seeking employment must advise you in writing within 10 days of making that decisionFootnote 1.

Once you receive this notice, you have 30 days to file a complaint with SIRC. If your complaint is submitted outside of this time frame, you must provide SIRC with an explanation as to why you did not comply with the 30-day deadline.

Once your complaint is received, SIRC will contact you to follow up on the information you provide.

Steps in the Complaints Process

Complaints must be made in writing. It is helpful to the Committee if you give as much detail as possible surrounding the complaint, including dates, places and the names of any persons involved.

SIRC will acknowledge receipt of your complaint, notify you of any other steps you should take and contact you for follow-up.

If, at this point, your concerns are still not satisfied, SIRC will write to CSIS to obtain and review further information relevant to your complaint. Following this review, SIRC may provide you with a report.

If your complaint is not resolved after this consultation process with CSIS, it may be necessary to proceed to a hearing presided over by one or more Committee members. A complainant has the right to be represented by counsel and to make representations at the hearing. If necessary, SIRC may hold a pre-hearing meeting to discuss administrative matters such as the number of witnesses to be called and the hearing time required.

The hearing itself may occur in stages. The hearing will take place in private and, while you have the right to make submissions to the Committee, you may not be able to be present when other witnesses give evidence in order to protect information, the disclosure of which could harm national security. This is known as an ex parte hearing.

In the case of an ex parte hearing, SIRC's Senior Counsel will cross-examine witnesses on your behalf and may provide you with a summary of the information presented in your absence.

Following a hearing, the Committee will set out its findings and any recommendations in a report. The report is submitted to the Minister, the Director of CSIS and the Deputy Head of the department or agency concerned (under Section 42 complaints).

The Committee will also provide you with its findings, taking into consideration the obligation to protect sensitive information.

Date modified:

Comment porter plainte

Si vous avez une plainte à formuler à l'endroit des activités du Service, l'article 41 de la Loi sur le SCRS s'applique à votre affaire.

Si vous avez une plainte qui concerne le refus ou la révocation d'une habilitation de sécurité qui est nécessaire pour obtenir ou conserver un emploi dans l'administration fédérale ou un contrat avec elle, c'est l'article 42 de cette loi qui s'applique.

Plaintes concernant l'article 41

La première étape consiste à rassembler le plus de documents et d'autres informations possible entourant les circonstances de votre plainte.

Si vous vous plaignez d'activités du Service en vertu de l'article 41 de la Loi sur le SCRS, vous devez d'abord exposer vos griefs par écrit au directeur du Service, à l'adresse suivante :

Directeur
Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
B. P. 9732, succursale postale T
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1G 4G4

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait de la réponse du directeur ou si elle ne vous parvient pas dans un délai raisonnable (généralement 30 jours), vous pouvez alors présenter votre plainte au CSARS, accompagnée de la réponse du directeur du Service si vous l'avez reçue. Voici les coordonnées du CSARS :

Comité de surveillance des activités
de renseignement de sécurité
B. P. 2430, succursale postale D
Ottawa (Ontario)
KlP 5W5

Téléphone : (613) 990-8441
Télécopieur : (613) 990-5230

Lorsqu'il reçoit votre plainte, le CSARS communique avec vous pour donner suite aux informations que vous avez fournies.

Plaintes concernant l'article 42

Si votre habilitation de sécurité a été refusée ou révoquée, la Loi sur le SCRS prévoit que l'administrateur général du ministère ou de l'organisme fédéral où vous travailliez ou à qui vous aviez présenté une demande d'emploi doit vous envoyer dans les dix jours suivant la prise de décision un avis vous informant de celle-ciNote de bas de page 1.

Une fois que vous avez reçu cet avis, vous avez 30 jours pour présenter une plainte au CSARS. Si votre plainte lui parvient après l'expiration de ce délai, vous devez lui exposer les raisons qui vous ont empêché de respecter ce délai de 30 jours.

Lorsqu'il reçoit votre plainte, le CSARS communique avec vous pour donner suite aux informations que vous avez fournies.

Étapes de la procédure concernant les plaintes

Toute plainte doit être présentée par écrit. Pour le Comité, il est utile que vous fournissiez le plus de détails possible au sujet de votre plainte, y compris les dates, les lieux et les noms de toutes les personnes en cause.

Le CSARS accuse réception de votre plainte, vous avertit de toute autre démarche à faire et communique avec vous pour assurer le suivi.

À ce moment-là, si les points que vous avez soulevés ne sont toujours pas réglés, le Comité demande par écrit au SCRS toute information pertinente à votre plainte et l'examine. À la suite de cet examen, le CSARS peut vous faire parvenir un rapport.

Si votre plainte n'est pas réglée après cette consultation du SCRS, il peut être nécessaire de tenir une audience présidée par un ou plusieurs membres du Comité. Le plaignant a le droit de se faire représenter par un avocat à l'audience et d'y présenter des observations. Au besoin, le CSARS peut tenir une réunion préparatoire pour discuter de questions administratives telles que le nombre de témoins à convoquer et le temps que doit durer l'audience.

L'audience même, qui peut comporter plusieurs étapes, se tient à huis clos. Même si vous avez le droit de présenter des observations au Comité, il se peut que vous ne puissiez assister aux témoignages des autres témoins, et cela, pour protéger l'information dont la divulgation pourrait menacer la sécurité nationale. C'est ce qu'on appelle une audience ex parte.

Dans le cas d'une audience ex parte, l'avocat principal du CSARS contre-interroge les témoins en votre nom et peut vous fournir un résumé de l'information présentée en votre absence.

À la suite d'une audience, le Comité consigne ses constatations dans un rapport de même que toute recommandation qu'il estime nécessaire. Ce rapport est envoyé au Ministre, au directeur du SCRS et à l'administrateur général du ministère ou de l'organisme concerné (pour les plaintes en vertu de l'article 42).

Le Comité vous communique également ses constatations, en tenant compte toutefois de l'obligation de protéger les renseignements à caractère délicat.

Date de modification :