About SIRC

The Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC or the Committee) was established in 1984 as an independent, external review body which reports to the Parliament of Canada on the performance of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS or the Service).

Parliament has given CSIS extraordinary powers to intrude on the privacy of individuals. SIRC ensures that these powers are used legally and appropriately, in order to protect Canadians' rights and freedoms. To do this, SIRC examines operations of the Service and investigates complaints.

By preparing “snapshots” of highly sensitive CSIS activities, SIRC helps Parliament to determine whether CSIS is discharging its mandate effectively.

Legislative and Policy Framework

The legislative and policy framework governing the Service, which SIRC uses to assess CSIS activities, is contained in four main instruments:

  1. The Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act promulgated on July 16, 1984. The CSIS Act (and its subsequent amendments) are the founding legislation for both CSIS and SIRC;
  2. Ministerial Direction. This is the principal means by which the Minister exercises his authority over the Service as set out in Section 6 of the Act. Ministerial direction gives overall policy guidance to the Director of the Service and governs a wide spectrum of Service activities. All changes to Ministerial direction are reviewed by the Committee;
  3. National Requirements for Security Intelligence - issued by the Minister each year, National requirements direct CSIS where it should focus its investigative efforts and how it should fulfill its intelligence collection, analysis and advisory responsibilities;
  4. CSIS Operational Policy - this sets out for CSIS employees the parameters and rules governing the entire range of Service activities. CSIS operational policy is regularly updated to conform with changes in legislation and Ministerial direction. Revisions to operational policy are provided to, and reviewed by, the Committee.

How SIRC Goes About Its Work

The Committee is supported by a small group of officials located in Ottawa. Day-to-day operations are delegated to an Executive Director. The Committee meets approximately nine times per year, at which time it establishes priorities and reviews the work undertaken by its staff.

Because of the small size of SIRC in relation to CSIS, the Committee operates on the basis of risk management. Since it is not capable of examining all of the Service's activities in any given period, it must carefully choose which issues to examine. A number of factors influence this selection, including shifts in the nature of the threat environment; changes in technology; the need to follow up on past Committee reviews; etc.

Reviews of CSIS Activities

As noted, SIRC conducts in-depth reviews of past operations of the Service. With the sole exception of Cabinet confidences, SIRC has access to all information held by CSIS, no matter how highly classified that information may be. Because much of this material is so sensitive that it must be reviewed on-site, the Service makes available a separate office and computers at CSIS Headquarters in Ottawa for the exclusive use of SIRC staff.

SIRC's reviews for any given year are designed to yield assessments across a range of CSIS activities. This approach helps to ensure that over time, the Committee has a comprehensive understanding of the Service's activities. Each review can include findings or recommendations. Although these are not binding, the Committee's principal role is to advise, so that the Service and those bodies of government that direct it, may take steps to modify policies and procedures accordingly.

Complaints about CSIS

SIRC's second role is to investigate complaints. Where appropriate, complaints are examined through a quasi-judicial hearing presided over by a Committee Member assisted by staff. Complaints can be made by individuals or groups, and can take one of four forms:

  1. complaints “with respect to any act or thing done by the Service” as described in the CSIS Act;
  2. complaints about denials of security clearances to federal government employees and contractors;
  3. referrals from the Canadian Human Rights Commission in cases where the complaint relates to the security of Canada; and
  4. Minister's reports in respect of the Citizenship Act.

When SIRC investigates a complaint, it releases as much information as possible to the complainant, and it also makes recommendations to the Government.

Annual Report to Parliament

By examining operations of the Service and investigating complaints, SIRC is able to make findings and recommendations designed to improve or correct the Service's performance. The results of this work, edited to protect national security and personal privacy, are summarized in its Annual Report. This report is tabled in Parliament, usually in October. Copies of previous Annual Reports and a List of Reviews conducted by SIRC are available on this website.

Date modified:

À propos du CSARS

Le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS ou Comité) a été constitué en 1984 à titre d'organisme indépendant qui, d'une part, surveille de l'extérieur les opérations du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS ou Service) et, de l'autre, rend des comptes au Parlement du Canada sur son rendement.

Le Parlement a conféré au SCRS le pouvoir extraordinaire de s'ingérer dans la vie privée de particuliers. Le CSARS veille à ce que ce pouvoir soit exercé judicieusement et dans le respect de la loi afin de protéger les droits et les libertés des Canadiens. À cette fin, il examine les opérations du Service et enquête sur les plaintes.

Par les « analyses sélectives » qu'il prépare sur des activités très délicates du SCRS, le CSARS aide toutefois le Parlement à déterminer si le Service s'acquitte bien de son mandat.

Cadre législatif et stratégique

Le cadre législatif et stratégique régissant le Service, auquel le Comité se reporte pour jauger les actions du SCRS, comporte quatre instruments principaux :

  1. La Loi sur le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, promulguée le 16 juillet 1984 – (et les modifications qui y ont été apportées par la suite), est la loi constitutive tant du SCRS que du CSARS;
  2. Les instructions ministérielles – sont pour le Ministre le principal moyen d'exercer à l'endroit du Service les pouvoirs prévus à l'article 6 de la Loi. Elles fournissent des orientations générales au directeur du SCRS et régissent une vaste gamme des activités du Service. Le Comité étudie tous les changements apportés aux instructions ministérielles;
  3. Les exigences nationales en matière de renseignement de sécurité – énoncées chaque année par le Ministre, indiquent au SCRS les domaines où il est tenu de concentrer ses efforts d'enquête et la manière dont il doit s'acquitter de ses responsabilités en matière de collecte de renseignements, d'analyse et de conseil;
  4. La politique opérationnelle du SCRS – expose aux employés du Service les paramètres et règles qui s'appliquent à l'éventail complet des activités du SCRS. Cette politique est mise à jour régulièrement suivant les modifications qui sont apportées aux lois et aux instructions ministérielles. Le Comité examine tous les changements que subit la politique opérationnelle.

Mode de réalisation du travail du CSARS

Le CSARS peut compter sur un petit groupe de fonctionnaires basé à Ottawa. La marche des activités courantes est confiée à un directeur exécutif. Au cours des neuf réunions (environ) qu'il tient chaque année, le Comité détermine les priorités et passe en revue les travaux entrepris par son personnel.

Le fonctionnement du Comité, en raison de sa petite taille par rapport au SCRS, repose sur la gestion du risque. Puisque le CSARS ne peut examiner la totalité des activités du Service en une période donnée, il doit choisir avec soin les dossiers à examiner. Divers facteurs influent sur cette sélection, dont les changements à la nature du contexte de la menace et sur le plan technologique, la nécessité d'assurer le suivi d'études antérieures du CSARS, etc.

Études sur les activités du SCRS

Ainsi qu'on le souligne plus tôt, le CSARS effectue des études approfondies sur les opérations passées du Service. Exception faite des seuls renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet, il a accès à toute information qu'a le SCRS en sa possession, quel qu'en soit le niveau de classification, qui a trait aux activités du Service. Étant donné la nature fort délicate d'une bonne partie des documents en cause, ceux-ci doivent être examinés sur place et, à cette fin, le SCRS met des locaux séparés, dotés d'ordinateurs, à la disposition exclusive du personnel du CSARS, à son administration centrale d'Ottawa.

Les études du Comité pour un exercice donné sont censées fournir des évaluations sur un éventail d'activités du SCRS. Cette façon de faire contribue au fil du temps à procurer au CSARS une vue globale de ces activités. Chacune de ces études peut contenir des constatations ou des recommandations. Même si celles-ci n'ont pas force exécutoire, le rôle principal du CSARS est de conseiller, de sorte que le SCRS et les mandataires du gouvernement qui le dirigent puissent faire le nécessaire pour modifier en conséquence les politiques et les procédures.

Plaintes au sujet du SCRS

Le second rôle du CSARS consiste à enquêter sur les plaintes. S'il y a lieu, l'examen des plaintes se fait lors d'audiences quasi judiciaires que préside un membre du Comité, secondé par le personnel. Ces plaintes, que peuvent présenter des particuliers ou des groupes, peuvent prendre quatre formes :

  1. les plaintes « contre des activités du Service », selon la Loi sur le SCRS;
  2. celles concernant le refus d'habilitations de sécurité à des fonctionnaires ou à des fournisseurs du gouvernement fédéral;
  3. les plaintes dont le CSARS est saisi par la Commission canadienne des droits de la personne et qui ont trait à la sécurité du Canada;
  4. les rapports du Ministre relatifs à la Loi sur la citoyenneté.

Lorsque le CSARS enquête sur une plainte, il fournit le plus d'information possible au plaignant et il fait des recommandations au gouvernement.

Rapport annuel au Parlement

L'examen des opérations du Service par le CSARS et les enquêtes de celui-ci sur les plaintes lui permettent de formuler des constatations et des recommandations qui visent à améliorer ou à redresser le rendement du Service. Les résultats de ces travaux, qui sont expurgés afin de protéger la sécurité nationale et la vie privée des intéressés, sont résumés dans son rapport annuel qui est déposé au Parlement, généralement en octobre. Le texte des Rapports annuels antérieurs et la Liste des études effectuées par le CSARS sont affichés sur ce site Web.

Date de modification :