About the Security Intelligence Review Committee

Who We Are

SIRC is an independent review body that reports to the Parliament of Canada on the operations of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS). SIRC has extensive experience in legal, administrative, policy and national security fields. SIRC is completely independent of CSIS.

SIRC consists of up to five appointed members who serve on a fixed-term basis, supported by an Executive Director and a dedicated team of lawyers, researchers, and other professionals.

With the exception of Cabinet confidences, SIRC has been given the absolute authority to examine all information under CSIS’s control, no matter how classified or sensitive. We review CSIS’s activities to provide assurances to Parliament and to Canadians that CSIS has acted in accordance with the law in performing its duties and functions.

What We Do

SIRC has three core functions:

  1. To certify the CSIS Director’s annual report to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness;
  2. To carry out in-depth reviews of CSIS’s activities; and
  3. To conduct investigations into complaints.

Certification

Every year, SIRC is mandated to certify to the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness the extent to which we are satisfied with the CSIS Director’s report to the Minister, whether the operational activities described in the report contravened the CSIS Act or Ministerial Direction, and whether CSIS’s activities involved any unreasonable or unnecessary use of its powers.

Reviews

SIRC conducts regular reviews to provide Parliament and Canadians with assurances that CSIS has acted in accordance with the law, Ministerial Direction, and relevant internal policies in performing its duties and functions.

Our reviews are designed to provide a comprehensive snapshot of CSIS’s major activities. We carefully consider the importance and scope of CSIS’s investigations, the potential for particular activities to infringe upon individual rights and freedoms, and the priorities and concerns of Parliament and of Canadians.

Investigation of complaints

SIRC also acts as a quasi-judicial tribunal to conduct investigations into complaints against CSIS and complaints regarding the denial or revocation of a security clearance necessary to obtain or keep federal government employment or contracts. For more information on complaints, please read the “Complaints Investigations” (PDF) brochure.

SIRC's Annual Report

Unclassified summaries of our findings and recommendations, as well as CSIS’s responses to these recommendations, are contained in our annual report to Parliament. It is worth noting that although our recommendations are non-binding, a number of them are accepted and implemented by CSIS.

For more information about SIRC and what we do, please visit our website at www.sirc-csars.gc.ca or contact us:

Security Intelligence Review Committee
P.O. Box 2430
Station D
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5W5
(613) 990-8441
info@sirc-csars.gc.ca

Date modified:

À propos du Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité

Qui nous sommes

Le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS) est un organisme de surveillance indépendant qui rend compte au Parlement du Canada des activités du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS). Il possède une vaste expérience dans les domaines juridiques, administratives, politiques et de la sécurité nationale. Le CSARS est entièrement indépendant du SCRS.

Le CSARS se compose d’un maximum de cinq membres nommés pour un mandat d’une durée déterminée. Il est épaulé par un directeur exécutif et une équipe dévouée d’avocats, de chercheurs et autres professionnels.

Le CSARS a le pouvoir absolu d’examiner toute l’information que détient le SCRS, quel que soit son niveau de classification, à l’exception des documents confidentiels du Cabinet. Il scrute les activités du SCRS pour donner au Parlement et à la population canadienne l’assurance que le SCRS a respecté la loi dans l’exercice de ses responsabilités et fonctions.

Ce que nous faisons

Le CSARS a trois fonctions principales :

  1. remettre un certificat relatif au rapport annuel du directeur du SCRS destiné au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile;
  2. mener des études approfondies sur les activités du SCRS;
  3. enquêter sur les plaintes.

Remise du certificat

Chaque année, le CSARS doit fournir au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile un certificat qui indique dans quelle mesure le rapport annuel du directeur du SCRS lui paraît acceptable, et si, dans le cadre de ses activités opérationnelles, le SCRS a commis des actes qui ne sont pas autorisés par la Loi sur le SCRS ou qui contreviennent aux instructions données par le ministre, ou s’il a exercé ses pouvoirs d’une façon abusive ou inutile.

Études

Le CSARS procède régulièrement à des études en vue de donner au Parlement et à la population canadienne l’assurance que le SCRS a exercé ses responsabilités et fonctions conformément à la loi, aux instructions du ministre et aux politiques internes applicables.

Les études du CSARS sont conçues pour brosser un tableau détaillé des principales activités du SCRS. Le CSARS prend en considération l’importance et la portée des enquêtes du SCRS, le risque qu’ont certaines activités d’empiéter sur les libertés et les droits individuels, ainsi que les priorités et préoccupations du Parlement et de la population canadienne.

Enquêtes sur les plaintes

Le CSARS agit aussi à titre de tribunal quasi judiciaire qui enquête sur des plaintes à l’endroit des activités du SCRS et des plaintes concernant le refus ou la révocation d’une habilitation de sécurité qui est nécessaire pour obtenir ou conserver un emploi ou un contrat auprès de l’administration fédérale. Pour vous renseigner sur les plaintes, veuillez consulter notre dépliant intitulé Enquêtes sur les plaintes (PDF).

Rapport annuel du CSARS

Des résumés non classifiés des observations et recommandations du CSARS, ainsi que les mesures prises par le SCRS à l’égard des recommandations, se trouvent dans notre rapport annuel au Parlement. Il convient de noter que même si ces recommandations ne sont pas contraignantes, le SCRS en accepte et en met en oeuvre un certain nombre.

Pour en savoir plus sur le CSARS et son travail, veuillez visiter notre site Web à l’adresse www.sirc-csars.gc.ca ou communiquer avec nous :

Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité
C.P. 2430
Succursale D
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5W5
613-990-8441
info@sirc-csars.gc.ca

Date de modification :