SIRC's Role and Responsibilities

The Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC or the Committee) is a small, independent review body which reports to Parliament on the operations of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS or the Service). It was established at the same time that CSIS was created in 1984, and derives its powers from the same legislation, that is, the CSIS Act.

The Committee is composed of five members, with the Honourable Pierre Blais, P.C. as Chair. The other Members are the Honourable Gene McLean, P.C., the Honourable Yves Fortier, P.C., C.C., O.Q., Q.C., the Honourable Ian Holloway, P.C., C.D., Q.C., and the Honourable Marie-Lucie Morin, P.C. All Members of the Committee are Privy Councillors, who are appointed by the Governor-in-Council after consultation by the Prime Minister with the Leaders of the Opposition parties.

The Committee's raison d'être is to provide assurance to the Parliament of Canada and through it, to Canadians, that CSIS is complying with legislation, policy and Ministerial Direction in the performance of its duties and functions. In doing so, the Committee seeks to ensure that CSIS does not undermine the fundamental rights and freedoms of Canadians. The Committee is the only independent, external body equipped with the legal mandate and expertise to review the Service's activities, and is, therefore, a cornerstone for ensuring the democratic accountability of one of the Government's most powerful organizations.

To provide this assurance, SIRC performs three functions. The first is to conduct in-depth reviews of CSIS activities to ensure that they comply with the CSIS Act and the various policy instruments that flow from it, and with direction from the Minister. The second is to receive and inquire into complaints by any person about any action of the Service. The third is to submit to the Minister a certificate on the operational activities of the Service.

Reviews of CSIS Activities

SIRC has virtually unlimited power to review CSIS's performance of its duties and functions. With the sole exception of Cabinet confidences, SIRC has the absolute authority to examine all information concerning CSIS's activities, no matter how highly classified that information may be.

Complaints about CSIS

SIRC's second role is to investigate complaints about CSIS brought to it by individuals or groups. These can take one of five forms:

Other Functions

After receiving a copy of the Director’s report, the Committee shall submit to the Minister a certificate stating the extent to which it is satisfied with the report.

By preparing “snapshots” of highly sensitive CSIS activities, SIRC helps Parliament to determine whether CSIS is acting appropriately and within the law.

The Service continues at all times to be accountable for current operations through the existing apparatus of government, specifically the Minister of Public Safety, central agencies and the Auditor General, Information Commissioner and Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

Date modified:

Rôle et responsabilités du CSARS

Le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS ou Comité) est un organisme de surveillance indépendant, de petite taille, qui rend compte au Parlement des opérations du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS ou Service). Il a été établi au moment même de la création du SCRS, en 1984, et il tire ses pouvoirs de la même loi, appelée Loi sur le SCRS.

Le Comité est composé de cinq membres et présidé par l’honorable Pierre Blais, C.P. Les autres membres sont l'honorable Gene McLean, C.P., l’honorable Yves Fortier, C.P., C.C., O.Q., c.r., l’honorable Ian Holloway, C.P., C.D., c.r., et l’honorable Marie-Lucie Morin, C.P. Tous les membres du CSARS font partie du Conseil privé et sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil après consultation des chefs des partis de l'opposition par le premier ministre.

La raison d'être du Comité est d'assurer au Parlement du Canada, et par son entremise aux Canadiens, que le SCRS respecte la loi, les politiques et les instructions ministérielles dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. Ce faisant, il s'emploie à veiller à ce que le Service n'ébranle pas les droits fondamentaux et les libertés des Canadiens. Le CSARS est le seul organisme indépendant, de l'extérieur, à être habilité par la loi et à avoir l'expertise voulue pour examiner les activités du SCRS, ce qui en fait la pierre angulaire d'un mécanisme qui permet d'assurer une reddition de comptes démocratique sur l'un des organismes gouvernementaux les plus puissants.

Pour fournir cette assurance, le Comité exerce trois fonctions. La première prend la forme d'études approfondies visant à vérifier si les activités du Service sont conformes à la Loi sur le SCRS et aux divers outils d'intervention qui en découlent ainsi qu'aux instructions du Ministre. La seconde consiste à recevoir les plaintes que toute personne peut porter à l'égard des activités du Service et à enquêter à leur sujet. La troisième exige le CSARS remet au ministre un certificat signalant toute activité opérationnelle du Service.

Études sur les activités du SCRS

Le Comité a des pouvoirs presque illimités pour ce qui est de scruter l'exercice des fonctions du Service. Exception faite des seuls renseignements confidentiels du Cabinet, il a le pouvoir absolu d'examiner toute information, quel qu'en soit le niveau de classification, qui a trait aux activités du SCRS.

Plaintes au sujet du SCRS

Le second rôle du CSARS consiste à enquêter sur les plaintes que des particuliers ou des groupes peuvent porter au sujet du SCRS. Ces plaintes peuvent prendre cinq formes :

Autres fonctions

Après réception du rapport du directeur, le comité remet au ministre un certificat indiquant dans quelle mesure le rapport lui paraît acceptable.

Par les « analyses sélectives » qu'il prépare sur les activités très délicates du Service, le CSARS aide toutefois le Parlement à déterminer si l'action du SCRS est irréprochable et conforme à la loi.

Le Service demeure en tout temps comptable des opérations en cours par l'entremise de l'appareil gouvernemental existant, à savoir le ministre dont il relève, les organismes centraux et le Bureau du vérificateur général ainsi que les Commissariats à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Date de modification :