L. Yves Fortier, P.C., C.C., O.Q., Q.C.

Photo of L. Yves Fortier

L. Yves Fortier was appointed on August 8, 2013, as a Member of the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC).

L. Yves Fortier was born in Quebec City in 1935. He received a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Montreal in 1955, a Bachelor of Civil Law from McGill University in 1958, and a Bachelor of Letters in 1960 from Oxford University, which he attended as a Rhodes Scholar. In 1960, he was called to the Barreau du Québec. He currently practices law in Montreal as an independent mediator/arbitrator. Mr. Fortier is the past chairman of Norton Rose (formerly Ogilvy Renault).

Throughout his distinguished legal career, Mr. Fortier has pleaded important cases before Canadian and international courts and arbitration panels. From 1984 to 1989, he was a member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration at The Hague. He has represented Canada in maritime boundary disputes with the United States (1984) and with France (1991). He has been a Counsel to many Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry in Canada, as well as a negotiator for the Government of Quebec with the Cree Nation.

From July 1988 to January 1992, Mr. Fortier was Canada’s Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York. He was Canada’s Chief Delegate to four sessions of the General Assembly. In 1989 and 1990, he served as Canada’s Representative to the Security Council of the United Nations, and was President of the Council in 1989. Mr. Fortier’s professional accomplishments have been recognized by his appointment as a Queen’s Counsel (1976) and by his election as National President of the Canadian Bar Association (1982). In May 2012, he was appointed chairman of the World Bank’s Sanctions Board.

In addition to having served as a director of many Canadian corporations, including the Royal Bank of Canada and TransCanada PipeLines Limited, Mr. Fortier is the former chairman of Alcan Inc. and the former Governor of the Hudson’s Bay Company.

In 1984, Mr. Fortier was appointed an Officer of the Order of Canada, and in 1991, he was elevated to Companion, the highest rank in the Order. In 2006, he was made an Officer of the National Order of Quebec. He has also received numerous honorary degrees from major universities in Canada.

Date modified:

L. Yves Fortier, C.P., C.C., O.Q., c.r.

Photo de L. Yves Fortier

L. Yves Fortier a été nommé le 8 août 2013 au Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS).

L. Yves Fortier est né à Québec en 1935. Il a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts de l’Université de Montréal en 1955 et un baccalauréat en droit civil de l’Université McGill en 1958 avant d’obtenir, en 1960, un baccalauréat en lettres de l’Université Oxford, qu’il a fréquenté à titre de boursier de la fondation Rhodes. En 1960, il a été admis au Barreau du Québec. Il pratique actuellement le droit à Montréal à titre de médiateur et d’arbitre indépendant. M. Fortier est l’ancien président de Norton Rose (anciennement Ogilvy Renault).

Durant sa brillante carrière dans le domaine juridique, M. Fortier a plaidé des causes importantes devant des tribunaux canadiens et internationaux ainsi que devant des tribunaux d’arbitrage. De 1984 à 1989, il a été membre de la Cour permanente d’arbitrage à La Haye. Il a aussi représenté le Canada dans le cadre de différends au sujet des frontières maritimes avec les États-Unis (1984) et avec la France (1991). Il a également été avocat-conseil pour de nombreuses commissions royales et commissions d’enquête au Canada de même que négociateur pour le gouvernement du Québec avec la Nation crie.

Entre juillet 1988 et janvier 1992, M. Fortier a été l’ambassadeur et le représentant permanent du Canada auprès des Nations Unies à New York et il a été le délégué principal du Canada lors de quatre sessions de l’Assemblée générale. En 1989 et en 1990, il a représenté le Canada auprès du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies et a été élu président du Conseil en 1989. Les réalisations professionnelles de M. Fortier ont été reconnues lors de sa nomination à titre de conseiller de la Reine (1976) et de son élection à titre de président national de l’Association du Barreau canadien (1982). En mai 2012, il a été nommé président du Conseil des sanctions de la Banque mondiale.

En plus d’avoir été administrateur de nombreuses sociétés canadiennes, dont la Banque Royale du Canada et TransCanada PipeLines Limited, M. Fortier est l’ancien président du conseil d’Alcan Inc. et l’ancien gouverneur de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

En 1984, M. Fortier a été nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada et en 1991, il a été promu au rang de compagnon, le rang le plus élevé de l’Ordre. En 2006, il a été nommé officier de l’Ordre national du Québec. Il a également reçu de nombreux diplômes honorifiques de la part de grandes universités du Canada.

Date de modification :