Gene McLean, P.C.

Photo of Gene McLean

Gene McLean was appointed on March 7, 2014, as a Member of the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC).

Gene McLean was born in Newcastle, New Brunswick. He holds a diploma in business management, a degree in political science, and a degree in organizational communications from the University of Ottawa. He has completed the academic requirements for the Governance Essentials Program for Directors through the Telfer School of Management.

Mr. McLean is an executive security advisor and principal of McLean Security Advisory & Associates Inc. He specializes in consulting on security and enterprise risk management for corporate, government and private sector organizations. Mr. McLean has over 35 years of experience. He was previously Vice President and Chief Security Officer for TELUS Corporation. In this role, his mandate was to protect personnel and physical assets, to secure the network, to provide for the protection of critical data and intellectual property, and to ensure regulatory compliance relating to the release of information in the protection of customer privacy. He was also chairman of the TELUS Information Security Steering Committee, where he was directly involved in the development of national security policy and procedures for TELUS. As well, he was a member of the TELUS Compliance Council and the TELUS Ethics Work Group.

Mr. McLean is a life member of the Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police and an associate member of the International Association of Chiefs of Police. He also served as Director of the not-for-profit Society for the Policing of Cyberspace.

In 2006, Mr. McLean was the first recipient of Canadian Security magazine’s “Canadian Security Director of the Year” award. In March 2011, he was appointed by Ann Cavoukian, Information and Privacy Commissioner of Ontario, as a Privacy by Design Ambassador.

Date modified:

Gene McLean, C.P.

Photo de Gene McLean

Gene McLean a été nommé le 7 mars 2014 au Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS).

Gene McLean est né à Newcastle, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Il détient un diplôme en gestion des affaires, un diplôme en sciences politiques et un diplôme en communications organisationnelles de l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a obtenu tous les crédits du programme Principes essentiels de gouvernance pour les administrateurs à l’École de gestion Telfer.

Gene McLean est conseiller exécutif en sécurité et mandant de la firme McLean Security Advisory & Associates Inc. Il se spécialise dans la consultation sur la sécurité et la gestion des risques d'entreprise, d’organismes du gouvernement et du secteur privé. Il possède plus de 35 ans d’expérience. Il a également été vice-président et chef de la sécurité de la société TELUS. À ce titre, son mandat était de protéger le personnel et les biens matériels, de sécuriser le réseau, d’assurer la protection des données critiques et la propriété intellectuelle, et d’assurer la conformité réglementaire relative à la diffusion d’information au niveau de la protection de la vie privé des clients. En qualité de président du comité directeur de la sécurité de l’information de TELUS, M. McLean a directement participé à l’élaboration de procédures et de politiques de sécurité nationale pour TELUS. Il a également été membre du Conseil de la conformité de TELUS et du Groupe de travail sur l’éthique de TELUS.

M. McLean est membre à vie de l'Association canadienne des chefs de police et membre associé de l'Association internationale des chefs de police. En outre, il a été administrateur de la Society for the Policing of Cyperspace.

En 2006, M. McLean a été le premier récipiendaire du prix « Canadian Security Director of the Year » du magazine Canadian Security. En mars 2011, il a été nommé ambassadeur particulier de la protection intégrée de la vie privée par Ann Cavoukian, commissaire à l'information et à la protection de la vie privée de l'Ontario.

Date de modification :