Frances Lankin, P.C., C.M.

Frances Lankin

Frances Lankin was appointed on January 29, 2009, as a Member of the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC), an agency which provides Parliament and the Canadian public with an external review of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS). SIRC also investigates complaints by individuals concerning CSIS and examines reports by Ministers relating to the national security of Canada.

The Hon. Frances Lankin was recently named by the Province of Ontario to co-lead a review of Ontario’s Social Assistance system as part of the province’s Poverty Reduction Strategy.

From 2001 to February 2011, Ms. Lankin held the position of President and CEO of United Way Toronto. Under her leadership, United Way has become a leading community builder that works to meet urgent needs and address the root causes of Toronto’s social problems.

Ms. Lankin has spent a lifetime in service to the community and is a recognized leader in the non-profit sector. In 2006, she chaired a federal government-commissioned Blue Ribbon Panel, which made recommendations for improving how Ottawa distributes grants and contributions to charities, business, research institutions and other organizations. She has been widely recognized for her contributions to community and most recently received Honorary Doctorates of Laws from Queen’s University and from Ryerson University.

She has served on several not-for-profit boards and is a graduate of the Rotman/ICD Director’s Education program. She is currently Chair of the Telus Toronto Community Board and a member of the Ontario Press Council. Recently Ms. Lankin was appointed a 2012 Trudeau Mentor by the Pierre Elliot Trudeau Foundation.

In 1990, Ms. Lankin was elected MPP for the Toronto riding of Beaches-East York and served as Minister of Government Services and Chair of the Management Board. She was Minister of Health from 1991 to 1993 and was appointed Minister of Economic Development and Trade, a position she held until 1995. From 1990 to 1995, Ms. Lankin was a member of the Policies and Priorities Committee of the Ontario Cabinet and served as Chair of Cabinet. Ms. Lankin served as MPP for 11 years until she joined the United Way in 2001.

Ms. Lankin has been widely recognized for her community work. In 2003, she was awarded the Queen's Jubilee Medal. In 2004, she was presented with United Way of Canada’s Award of Excellence for her community building work in Toronto. In 2007, she was named the Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS) CEO of the Year for Excellence in Public Relations and received the Toronto Star’s 2007 Laurel Award. In 2008, she was named one of More Magazine’s Top 40 over 40 in the Fighting-for-equality category. That same year, she received the Equal Voice EVE Award for her achievements in political life and her efforts to advance the cause of electing more women in Canada as well as the Consumers’ Choice Woman of the Year Award. In 2009, Ms. Lankin was honoured with the Italian Chamber of Commerce of Toronto's Community Builder Award. In 2010 and 2011 she received honorary Doctorate of Laws degrees from Queen’s University, and Ryerson University, and an honorary Bachelor of Applied Arts from Seneca College. In 2012, Ms. Lankin was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal and was named a 2012 Trudeau Mentor by the Pierre Elliot Trudeau Foundation.

Date modified:

Frances Lankin, C.P., C.M.

Frances Lankin

Frances Lankin a été nommée le 29 janvier 2009 au Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS) qui exerce de l’extérieur, au nom du Parlement et du public canadien, une surveillance sur le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS). Le CSARS enquête en outre sur les plaintes qu’il reçoit au sujet du SCRS et il examine les rapports que lui présentent les ministres à l’égard de la sécurité nationale du Canada.

L’honorable Frances Lankin a récemment été choisie par la province de l’Ontario pour codiriger l’examen du système ontarien d’aide sociale, dans le cadre de la Stratégie ontarienne de réduction de la pauvreté.

De 2001 à février 2011, Mme Lankin a été présidente et directrice générale de United Way Toronto. Sous sa gouverne, l’organisme est devenu un bâtisseur communautaire exceptionnel qui s’efforce de répondre aux besoins urgents et de traiter les causes profondes des problèmes sociaux à Toronto.

Mme Lankin a passé sa vie au service de la collectivité et elle est une dirigeante réputée dans le secteur sans but lucratif. En 2006, elle a présidé un groupe d’experts indépendants chargé par le gouvernement fédéral de formuler des recommandations visant à améliorer la répartition des subventions et des contributions d’Ottawa aux organismes de bienfaisance, aux entreprises, aux établissements de recherche et aux autres organisations. Son apport à la collectivité a été largement reconnu; récemment, les universités Queen’s et Ryerson lui ont d’ailleurs chacune décerné un doctorat honorifique en droit.

Elle a siégé au conseil d’administration de plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif et a complété avec succès le Programme de perfectionnement des administrateurs offert par l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés (IAS)/la Rotman School of Management. Elle est actuellement présidente du conseil d’investissement communautaire de Telus à Toronto et membre du Conseil de presse de l’Ontario. Récemment, Mme Lankin a été nommée mentor Trudeau pour 2012 par la Fondation Pierre Elliot Trudeau.

En 1990, Mme Lankin a été élue députée provinciale dans la circonscription torontoise de Beaches-East York et elle a été ministre des Services gouvernementaux et présidente du Comité de gestion. Elle a été ministre de la Santé de 1991 à 1993, puis a été nommée ministre du Développement économique et du Commerce, un poste qu’elle a occupé jusqu’en 1995. De 1990 à 1995, Mme Lankin a été membre du Comité des politiques et des priorités du conseil des ministres de l’Ontario ainsi que présidente du conseil des ministres. Mme Lankin a été députée provinciale pendant 11 ans avant de se joindre à Centraide en 2001.

Frances Lankin a la réputation d’une grande philanthrope. En 2003, elle a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la reine. En 2004, on lui a présenté le prix d’excellence de Centraide pour ses travaux sur le développement de la conscience sociale à Toronto. En 2007, elle a été proclamée PDG de l’année par la Société canadienne des relations publiques (SCRP) pour l’excellence en relations publiques et elle a remporté le Toronto Star Laurel Award. En 2008, le magazine More l’a fait l’une des 40 personnalités marquantes de plus de 40 ans dans la catégorie de la lutte pour l’égalité. Cette même année, on lui a décerné le prix Equal Voice EVE pour ses réalisations dans la vie politique et ses efforts visant à faire élire un plus grand nombre de femmes au Canada, ainsi que le prix de la femme de l’année de Consumers’ Choice. En 2009, Mme Lankin a été récipiendaire du Prix du bâtisseur communautaire de la Chambre de commerce italienne de Toronto. En 2010 et 2011, elle a reçu des doctorats honorifiques en droit de la Queen’s University et de la Ryerson University, ainsi qu’un baccalauréat honorifique en Arts appliqués du Seneca College. En 2012, Mme Lankin s’est vu remettre la médaille du jubilé de diamant de la Reine et a été nommée mentor Trudeau pour 2012 par la Fondation Pierre Elliot Trudeau.

Date de modification :